2497 (Cosford) Squadron

2497 (Cosford) Squadron was formed as an Air Training Corps squadron on 1st June 1971 under the command of Flight Lieutenant Pybus.

Since its formation, the squadron has had many homes at RAF Cosford, as well as having had numerous Commanding Officers over the years.

Read more about our history
  • Flight Lieutenant Pybus

    1971 – 1972

  • Flight Lieutenant Rhodes

    1972 – 1987

  • Flight Lieutenant Wishart

    1987 – 1992

  • Flight Lieutenant Burgess

    1992 – 1994

  • Flight Lieutenant Williams

    1994 – 1995

  • Flight Lieutenant Jackson

    1996 – 1999

  • Flight Lieutenant Woodcock

    1999 – 2011

  • Flight Lieutenant Vince

    2011 –

Adult volunteers

Alike with all squadrons in the RAF Air Cadets, 2497 (Cosford) Squadron is run by a group of volunteers who each have a variety of skills and expertise to offer.

Giles Vince
Flight Lieutenant RAFAC
Officer Commanding

Richard Draper
Flying Officer RAFAC
Fieldcraft, Sports and Shooting Officer

Lee Preston
Flying Officer RAFAC
First Aid and Flight Simulation Officer

Rob Lofthouse
Warrant Officer RAFAC
Training and Discipline Officer

Shawn Preston
Flight Sergeant RAFAC
Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Officer

Anne Burgess
Civilian Instructor
Finance Officer

Jonnah Jones
Civilian Instructor
Ground Training Instructor

Mary Middleton
Civilian Instructor
Uniform Stores Officer

Claire Pritchard
Civilian Instructor
Squadron Shop and Child Protection Officer

Jason Pritchard
Civilian Instructor
Fire Safety and Mechanical Transport Officer

Tim Shields
Flight Sergeant RAF

Steve Jones
Sergeant RAF
Radio Communications and Cadet Non-Commissioned Officer Team Development Officer, RAF Service Instructor

Mathew McNee
Sergeant RAF
STEM, Remote Control Flying and Leadership Officer

Sarah Mincher
Registered Civilian Welfare Committee Member

Ryan Phillips
Registered Civilian Welfare Committee Member
Media and Communications Officer